Home / Celebrity / European Union wins Nobel Peace Prize; Piers Morgan accepts

European Union wins Nobel Peace Prize; Piers Morgan accepts


Jimmy Carter and Al Gore each have one. Barack Obama was awarded his in October 2009, after only eight months in office, in part for his outreach to “normalize relations” with the Muslim world. (They love us now, right?) Now these previous recipients share the honor of winning the Nobel Peace Prize with the 500 million citizens who make up the European Union.

If the award reminds you of that time “you” won Time magazine’s Person of the Year award, you’re not alone.

I’ve just won the Nobel Peace Prize? How exciting. #EuropeanUnion

— Piers Morgan (@piersmorgan) October 12, 2012

This is like that Time Mag”You” cover. RT @aussietorres: RT @cbsnews: European Union wins Nobel Peace Prize cbsn.ws/OsNHJ0

— Heidi N. Moore (@moorehn) October 12, 2012

Having won Time’s Person of the Year back in 2006, I’m surprised but delighted to accept this Nobel peace prize 6 years later

— Ed Yong(@edyong209) October 12, 2012

Congrats to “all 500 million Europeans” for winning Nobel Peace Prize, awarded by Europeans. You guys got a good continent going there.

— Brant Hansen (@branthansen) October 12, 2012

The announcement, made today, was met with widespread snark. Expectations were already low (see list of winners above), but the EU?

Europe awards Europe the Nobel Peace Prize for being Europe.

— Jeffrey Goldberg (@JeffreyGoldberg) October 12, 2012

Giving the Nobel peace prize to the EU is like admitting that our world is so messed up that we’ve run out of options.

— Iyad El-Baghdadi (@iyad_elbaghdadi) October 12, 2012

Not a satire: #EU wins #Nobel Peace Prize m.apnews.com/ap/db_289563/c…

— John McCain (@SenJohnMcCain) October 12, 2012

People say Nobel committee jumped the shark. I say no. Still time to award it to themselves.

— Jonah Goldberg (@JonahNRO) October 12, 2012

As a facebook friend put it: “This just in: White Race wins Nobel Peace Prize.”

— Aaron Bady (@zunguzungu) October 12, 2012

Heard at the Nobel Peace Prize dinner … Greece: “Hey guys, I forgot my wallet. Can someone spot me?Germany?”

— Mo Rocca (@MoRocca) October 12, 2012

So the Nobel Peace Prize is a parting gift?

— Seth Meyers (@sethmeyers21) October 12, 2012

nobel peace prize goes to …? A union of countries in which half are bankrupt, a third are third world and the others no one cares about?

— Billy O’Keefe (@DefendWallSt) October 12, 2012

Recent winers of Nobel Peace Prize–Al Gore and Barack ObamaThe prize committee has zero credibility with thinking Americans.

— Tim Lee (@MarineTimLee) October 12, 2012

Remember when the Nobel Peace Prize still had a little bit of credibility?

— Glenn Greenwald (@ggreenwald) October 12, 2012

We don’t remember exactly, but it was quite a while ago. What year did Yasser Arafat win? That doesn’t matter. What’s going on today is what matters.

Here’s what our European Union page looked like on the day the EU wins the Nobel Peace Prize: ironic? twitter.com/Channel4News/s…

— Channel 4 News (@Channel4News) October 12, 2012

Take heart if you’re not a member of the EU. Maybe next year will be the year for these aspirants.

Next year, the Nobel peace prize will be awarded to planet earth for not self-imploding #NobelPeacePrize

— Asma I. AbdulMalik(@AsmaIMalik) October 12, 2012

BREAKING – Runner-up for Nobel Peace Prize was Antarctica, “a continent that has always been at peace.”

— Mark MacKinnon/马凯 (@markmackinnon) October 12, 2012

Only a matter of time before the Nobel Peace Prize awards itself the Nobel Peace Prize

— James Myburgh (@jamesmyburgh) October 12, 2012

I predict that next year the Nobel Peace Prize will be won by….the Nobel Peace Prize Awards Committee…

— George Galloway (@georgegalloway) October 12, 2012

I think the guy that made Gangnam style should get the #nobel peace prize. He united the whole world.

— Peter Sunde (@brokep) October 12, 2012

What’s the chance of the United States getting a shout-out from the award ceremony?

If the Nobel committee was being honest, then the U.S. Strategic Air Command would have been the co-winners of the Peace Prize with the EU.

— Daniel Drezner (@dandrezner) October 12, 2012

If the Nobel Committee wanted to honor the force that actually kept Europe at peace, the prize would go to the United States Army.

— Joshua Treviño (@jstrevino) October 12, 2012

Apparently we now award Nobel Peace Prizes to multinational blocs. I vote that the next Medal of Honor goes to the F-22 Raptor.

— Zachary (@ZacharyCrippen) October 12, 2012

Read more: http://twitchy.com/2012/10/12/european-union-wins-nobel-peace-prize-world-snarks-piers-morgan-accepts/

About Diego Leclerc

Check Also

D’OH! Gay Conservatives BLAST Kathy Griffin for narrative singling them out in census (she deleted her tweet!)

Only a Leftist like Kathy Griffin would be angry that people can’t be ‘counted’ by …